I signed up for WHAT?

So I’m now a little over a week out from starting yoga teacher training. A couple of days ago I got an e-mail with the run down of what’s expected. What? you might ask. I didn’t check that out before I put the money down and committed. I did, of course. But this e-mail included more detail.

In addition to eight Saturdays full of asana practice and workshops (check!) and two classes per week for observation/demonstration/adjustments (check!), I’ve now learned that there’s required daily practice, journaling and a service project. Not that these are bad things. I’m just starting to wonder if I’ve taken on more than I want to handle.

One of the things I LOVE about yoga is that practicing teaches me to be more patient – with  others and with myself. That last part is hard for me. I have a tendency to judge, and I judge myself more harshly than I do anyone else. It’s something I don’t like about myself (there I go judging again), but I’m working on it. And here I go already worrying about falling short of expectations.

Let’s just keep that mantra handy – Peace and kindness. Peace and kindness. Rinse and repeat.

Leave a Reply

